Graduate Students

Catie Alves

NSF Graduate Research Fellow

Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): John Bruno
342 Wilson | Email: calves06@live.unc.edu
Research: Coral reef ecology, marine conservation, fisheries reform, natural resource management
Margit Bertalan

Fulbright-Hays Fellow

Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Paul Leslie
Email: bertalan@live.unc.edu
Research: Social-ecologial systems, wildlife conservation, community based conservation, East Africa
Colleen Bove
Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Karl Castillo
3117N Murray Hall | Email: colbrynn@email.unc.edu
Research: Ocean acidification and ocean warming effects on Caribbean coral reefs
Sarah Brown
Degree Sought: M.S. | Advisor(s): Carol Arnosti
3105C Murray Hall | Email: sbrown21@ad.unc.edu
Research: Marine microbial ecology
Joseph Delesantro
Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Diego Riveros-Iregui & Larry Band
305 Whitehead Hall | Email: jmdelesantro@gmail.com
Research: Land-use effects on watershed hydrology and solute transport, management implication for downstream water bodies, ecohydrology
Clare Fieseler
Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Karl Castillo and Jaye Cable
3105C Murray Hall | Email: cfieseler@unc.edu
Research: Coral Reef Ecology, Resilience, Adaptive Management
Adam Gold
Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Michael Piehler
Institute of Marine Sciences | Email: acgold@live.unc.edu
Research: Coastal watershed hydrology and biogeochemistry, stormwater management
Lauren Goodman

UNC Merit Fellow

Degree Sought: M.S. | Advisor(s): Alex Hearn & Jaye Cable
Email: lsgoodma@live.unc.edu
Research: Using drone technology to geolocate shark nurseries
Kaylyn S. Gootman
Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Jaye Cable
3117Y Murray hall | Email: kaylyn@live.unc.edu
Research: Groundwater-surface water interactions, hyporheic zone clogging, stable isotope geochemistry
Diamond VE Holloman

UNC Merit Fellow

Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Gabriela Valdivia
121 Mitchell Hall | Email: diamond2@live.unc.edu
Research: Environmental Justice, hurricane recovery, critical urban ecology
Claire Johnson
Degree Sought: M.S. | Advisor(s): Lindsay Dubbs
Email: clairejo@live.unc.edu
Research: Nutrient cycling and nitrogen fixation by the Sargassum community in the Gulf Stream
Sandeep Kandikuppa

UNC Merit Fellow

Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Clark L. Gray
121 Mitchell Hall | Email: ksandeep@live.unc.edu
Research: Water governance, especially groundwater governance in semi-arid and arid regions
Zofia Knorek

Doctoral Merit Fellow

Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Joel Fodrie
Email: zofia@live.unc.edu
Research:
Michael Kunz
Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Alan Weakley
Email: mkunz@unc.edu
Research: Biology, ecology and phylogeography of imperiled plants, reintroduction biology and plant conservation
Geoffrey Neal
Degree Sought: M.S. | Advisor(s): Alan Weakley
Coker Arboretum | Email: geoffrey@email.unc.edu
Research: Plant Ecology
Jeffrey Plumlee
Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Joel Fodrie
Email: jplumlee@email.unc.edu
Research:
Garrett Sharpe

UNC Doctoral Merit Fellow

Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Alecia Septer and Scott Gifford
3313 Venable Hall | Email: gcs@email.unc.edu
Research: Coastal Microbial Interactions and Metabolism
Erin Spencer
Degree Sought: M.S. | Advisor(s): John Bruno
Email: etspence@live.unc.edu
Research: Sustainable fisheries, marine protected area management, coral reef ecology
Joanna Spooner

UNC Merit Fellow

Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Alan Weakly
Email: acalliope@gmail.com
Research: Biology
Eric Ungberg

Master's Merit Fellow

Degree Sought: M.S. | Advisor(s): Allan Weekly
Email: eungberg@live.unc.edu
Research:
Travis Wilson
Degree Sought: M.S. | Advisor(s): Alecia Septer
Email: travist@email.unc.edu
Research: Microbial Ecology
Amy Yarnall
Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Joel Fodrie
121 Mitchell Hall | Email: amyhalli@live.unc.edu
Research: Fish ecology, sustainable fisheries harvest, predator-prey interactions, trophic cascades and apex predator loss
Shelby Ziegler
Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Joel Fodrie
IMS | Email: sziegler@live.unc.edu
Research: Food web linkages, Habitat connectivity, Marine community ecology