Skip to main content

Graduate Students

Sarah Brown
Degree Sought: M.S. | Advisor(s): Carol Arnosti
3105C Murray Hall | Email: sbrown21@ad.unc.edu
Research: Marine microbial ecology
Joseph Delesantro
Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Diego Riveros-Iregui & Larry Band
305 Whitehead Hall | Email: jmdelesantro@gmail.com
Research: Land-use effects on watershed hydrology and solute transport, management implication for downstream water bodies, ecohydrology
Anastasia Dulskiy
Degree Sought: | Advisor(s): Karl Castillo
3322 Venable Hall | Email: adulskiy@unc.edu
Research: Ecophysiology of temperate corals, marine conservation
J. Brandon Fuller
Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Dr. Alan Weakley
417 Coker Hall | Email: jbfull@unc.edu
Research: The co-evolution/community dynamics of plants and insect herbivores in restricted or disjunct ranges
Nick Funnell
Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Dr. Joel Fodrie
3117W Murray | Email: nfunnell@email.unc.edu
Research: Marine community ecology, restoration, and conservation; human-environment interactions; sustainable aquaculture
Helena Garcia
Degree Sought: | Advisor(s):
123 South Rd , CB# 3275 | Email: hmgarcia@unc.edu
Research:
Shawn Griffith
Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Dr. Caela O'Connell
121 Mitchell Hall | Email: sgriff25@live.unc.edu
Research: The effects of disasters on people experiencing homelessness in the United States.
Claire Johnson
Degree Sought: M.S. | Advisor(s): Lindsay Dubbs
Email: clairejo@live.unc.edu
Research: Nutrient cycling and nitrogen fixation by the Sargassum community in the Gulf Stream
Sandeep Kandikuppa

UNC Merit Fellow

Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Dr. Clark L. Gray, Associate Professor, Department of Geography, UNC-CH
121 Mitchell Hall | Email: ksandeep@live.unc.edu
Research: I examine the socio-political and environmental factors that exacerbate or mitigate rural household indebtedness in India. I employ analysis of large secondary datasets like NSSO and IHDS alongside qualitative methods like semi-structured interviews with farmers to understand why even seemingly modest sums of outstanding debts cause farmers distress.
Wesley Knapp
Degree Sought: | Advisor(s):
NC Botanical Garden (525000) | Email: wknapp@unc.edu
Research:
Zofia Knorek

Doctoral Merit Fellow

Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Joel Fodrie and Niels Lindquist
Email: zofia@live.unc.edu
Research: Oyster reef restoration and conservation, oyster-pest population dynamics
Michael Kunz
Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Alan Weakley
Email: mkunz@unc.edu
Research: Biology, ecology and phylogeography of imperiled plants, reintroduction biology and plant conservation
Alexis Longmire
Degree Sought: | Advisor(s):
123 South Rd , CB 3175 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 | Research:
Quentin Martinez
Degree Sought: | Advisor(s):
123 South rd , CB 3175 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 | Email: qmartinez@unc.edu
Research:
Stephanie McFadden
Degree Sought: M.S. | Advisor(s): Dr. Paul Leslie
Email: stephaniemcfadden@live.unc.edu
Research: Human-carnivore conflict mitigation, Community based conservation, wildlife conservation, East Africa
Adair McNear
Degree Sought: M.S. | Advisor(s): Johnny Randall
Email: mcnear@unc.edu
Research: Botany, landscape genetics, conservation ecology in manmade landscapes
Geoffrey Neal
Degree Sought: M.S. | Advisor(s): Alan Weakley
Coker Arboretum | Email: geoffrey@email.unc.edu
Research: Plant Ecology
Jeffrey Plumlee
Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Joel Fodrie
Email: jplumlee@email.unc.edu
Research: Marine food webs, niche partitioning, and habitat and resource use of highly migratory predators
Maya Powell
Degree Sought: | Advisor(s):
123 South Rd , CB 330 Chapel Hill, NC 27599 | Email: mayapow@email.unc.edu
Research:
Savannah Ryburn
Degree Sought: M.S. | Advisor(s): Dr. John Bruno
342 Wilson Hall | Email: sryburn@live.unc.edu
Research: Coral reef ecology, trophic ecology, marine conservation
Eric Scheier
Degree Sought: M.S. | Advisor(s): Noah Kittner
Virtual | Email: eric.scheier@unc.edu
Research: Energy Equity, Solar Power, Energy Storage, Net Energy, Emergy, Macro Energy Systems, Environmental Commodities, Clean Technology Deployment, Climate Finance, Socio-Ecological Systems, Sustainability, Life Cycle Assessment.
Garrett Sharpe

UNC Doctoral Merit Fellow

Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Alecia Septer and Scott Gifford
3313 Venable Hall | Email: gcs@email.unc.edu
Research: Coastal Microbial Interactions and Metabolism
Joanna Spooner

UNC Merit Fellow

Degree Sought: Ph.D. | Advisor(s): Alan Weakly
Email: acalliope@gmail.com
Research: Biology
Matthew Ungaro
Degree Sought: M.S. | Advisor(s): Todd BenDor
Email: mungaro@live.unc.edu
Research: Urban ecology, restoration ecology, geographic information systems, planning, stream and wetland ecology
Eric Ungberg

Master's Merit Fellow

Degree Sought: M.S. | Advisor(s): Allan Weekly
Email: eungberg@live.unc.edu
Research:
Kristen Viera
Degree Sought: | Advisor(s):
6518 Moinear Ln Chapel Hill, NC 27514 | Email: kviera@unc.edu
Research:
Travis Wilson
Degree Sought: M.S. | Advisor(s): Alecia Septer
Email: travist@email.unc.edu
Research: Microbial Ecology